Virtual Event Program

The 2022 virtual Courage in Journalism Awards will take place on Wednesday, November 9 at 5:30pm ET, in partnership with Washington Post Live. Register online now!

Celebrating Courage

Since 1990, the Courage in Journalism Awards have honored brave women journalists who refuse to step aside or be silenced in their pursuit of the truth. The 2022 Awards take place amid heightened global tensions, from Russia’s war on Ukraine to the consequences of the Taliban takeover in Afghanistan. Join us to recognize the women journalists at the frontlines of these challenges who are intrepid in their commitment to reporting.

Thank you to our National Presenting Sponsor, Bank of America!

For 16 consecutive years, Bank of America has been the National Presenting Sponsor of the Courage in Journalism Awards – a nearly $4 million investment in women journalists and press freedom.

Register for the virtual awards!

Hosted by Norah O’Donnell

The 2022 virtual Courage Awards are hosted by IWMF Board member Norah O’Donnell, the anchor and managing editor of CBS Evening News.

Event Chair: Kathryn Murdoch

Kathryn Murdoch, co-founder and president of the Quadrivium Foundation, is the chair of this year’s Courage in Journalism Awards.

Thank you to First Amendment Sponsor, the MacArthur Foundation!

Lynsey Addario (U.S.)

Reporting from 70 countries throughout her 25-year career, photojournalist Lynsey Addario is dedicated to documenting conflict, humanitarian crisis, and women’s issues from the frontlines — despite a near-death experience.

Meet Lynsey

Victoria Roschchyna (Ukraine)

Ukrainian freelance journalist Victoria Roshchyna continues reporting, despite previously being detained by Russian forces for her work sharing the horrifying effects of war on civilians.

Meet Victoria

Cerise Castle (U.S.)

Freelancer Cerise Castle wrote the first history exposing deputy gangs inside the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department, resulting in harassment and retaliation from LASD and threats to her safety.

Meet Cerise

Support women and nonbinary journalists in crisis

Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award

Xueqin (Sophia) Huang

Each year, the Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award brings attention to women journalists who are detained, jailed or imprisoned. This year, the Annenberg Award was given to Xueqin (Sophia) Huang.

Having spent her career reporting on injustice and corruption in China — including pioneering the #MeToo movement within her country — Huang was arrested on September 19, 2021. She remains imprisoned and has not had contact with her family or lawyers since her arrest.

Meet Xueqin

Sponsor the 2022 Courage in Journalism Awards

Gwen Ifill Award Winner: Mc Nelly Torres

The virtual Courage Awards will feature an exclusive, live interview with 2022 Gwen Ifill Award winner Mc Nelly Torres. An editor at Center for Public Integrity and board member of NAHJ, Mc Nelly’s career has broken barriers for Latina women in investigative journalism.

Learn More

Thanks to our sponsors!